Commemorative events on the occasion of the 103rd anniversary of the Russian Exodus in Turkey
Automatic translation of the record is corrected by the author

Commemorative events were held in Turkey on the occasion of the 103rd anniversary of the Russian Exodus

Russian Russian General P.N. Wrangel's soldiers exodus from Crimea on November 22, as part of commemorative events on the occasion of the 103rd anniversary of the exodus from Crimea, Priest Georgy Sergeyev, responsible for the care of the faithful of the Moscow Patriarchate in Turkey, held a memorial service at the memorial to Russian soldiers in Gallipoli (modern Gelibolu).

The service was attended by the Consul General of the Russian Federation in Istanbul A.V. Buravov, representatives of the Russian diplomatic corps, the representative of the Foundation "Apostle Andrew the First-Called" M. Murat, President of the Association of Russian-Turkish Friendship E. Ugyurlu, Chairman of the CSRS in Turkey A. Babayev, as well as representatives of associations of Russian compatriots.

The participants of the funeral ceremony laid flowers at the monument to Russian soldiers. After the memorial service, the participants of the event met with the Mayor of Gelibolu M. Ozajar and the prefect of Gelibolu district B. Abaji.


In 1920-1921, the Gallipoli Peninsula housed units of the Russian army of General P.N. Wrangel, evacuated from the Crimea. On November 22, 1921, the Gallipoli Society was established – one of the active public organizations of the Russian Diaspora.

A total of 342 people died from wounds, cold, hunger and disease during their stay in Gallipoli. The monument to the Russians was solemnly consecrated and opened on July 16, 1921. The monument, left in the care of local authorities, stood until 1949, when it was seriously damaged as a result of an earthquake. For a long time the monument remained in a dilapidated state, and then it was finally dismantled.

On May 17, 2008, after the restoration, the opening ceremony of the memorial complex took place. The co-chairs of the memorial restoration program are Chairman of the Board of Trustees of the Center of National Glory V.I. Yakunin, Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Russian Federation Sergey Lavrov, ex-Minister of Culture and Mass Communications of the Russian Federation A.S. Sokolov.